Vacmaster Beast vs Shop-Vac SVX2: 12 Gallon Vacs
The Vacmaster Professional Beast is the better buy for most households: same 12 gallon tank, 3 CFM more airflow, 10 ft more cord, a published 24.7 lb weight and a $149.99 price on Vacmaster's own store. That price sits against $256.91 for the Shop-Vac SVX2 utility vac on shopvac.com, both checked October 21, 2026. That is a $106.92 gap, or 71 percent more, by our arithmetic. The Shop-Vac earns its premium on exactly two numbers: 70 inches of sealed pressure against 60, and 370 peak air watts against 360. If your recurring job is standing water in a basement, those 10 inches are worth paying for, and the lifetime home use warranty helps. For sawdust, drywall and general garage mess, the Vacmaster does the same work for the price of a decent circular saw less. This is a documentation comparison from both makers' product and warranty pages. We did not vacuum with either machine.
| VM Vacmaster Professional Beast 12 Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum (VJH1211PF 0204) | SV Shop-Vac 12 Gallon 5.5 Peak HP SVX2 Wet/Dry Utility Vacuum (Item 8251205) | |
|---|---|---|
| Overall | 8.8 / 10 | 8.0 / 10 |
| Ease of use | 8.6 | 7.8 |
| Features | 8.8 | 8.6 |
| Value | 9.6 | 7.0 |
| Support | 8.4 | 8.8 |
| Starting price | $149.99 on Vacmaster's own US store (us.cleva.com), October 2026 - see current pricing | $256.91 on shopvac.com (October 2026); also sold through retailers - see current pricing |
| Category | Corded Wet/Dry Shop Vacuum | Corded Wet/Dry Shop Vacuum |
| Review | Review |
Vacmaster Professional Beast 12 Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum (VJH1211PF 0204)
The Vacmaster Beast is the documentation review value pick. Vacmaster's own US store, checked October 21, 2026, lists it at $149.99 with a 12 gallon tank, 6 peak HP, 11.8 amps at 120 V, 143 CFM, 60 inches of water lift, 360 air watts, a 2-1/2 in. by 7 ft hose, a 22 ft cord and a published tool weight of 24.7 lb. The box includes a high efficiency cartridge filter, a high efficiency dust bag and a foam wet filter, which Vacmaster says capture fine dust down to 1 micron, plus two wands and four nozzles. Vacmaster's warranty table gives the Beast Series 5 years under normal household use and 90 days under commercial, industrial or rental use. The gaps: the page publishes no dimensions, no noise figure and no certification mark, the product URL still reads 5-5-peak-hp while the title and table say 6, and the page showed only 4.6 stars from 5 reviews. Buy it for the price and the paperwork. Skip it if you need a long owner-review record.
Read full review →The short answer: Vacmaster on price and cord, Shop-Vac on lift and warranty
Two 12 gallon corded shop vacs with nearly identical airflow and a $106.92 price gap.
- The Vacmaster Beast is best for households that want a full spec sheet, a 22 ft cord and the lowest published price in the class.
- The Shop-Vac SVX2 is best for water cleanups, where 70 inches of sealed pressure and a lifetime home use warranty justify the premium.
- Our pick is the Vacmaster, because the price gap buys a second tool and the performance gap is 10 inches of lift and 10 air watts.
- Both lose to a 14 gallon Ridgid on airflow, at 165 CFM, but Ridgid publishes no price at all, which makes value impossible to judge.
- The disclaimer: every figure below comes from Vacmaster's or Shop-Vac's own product and warranty pages, read October 21, 2026. We did not vacuum with either.
Side by side: the figures and the gap between them
Each row gives the Vacmaster figure, the Shop-Vac figure and the difference. All from each maker's own page on October 21, 2026, with differences calculated by the editorial team.
- Published price. Vacmaster $149.99 · Shop-Vac $256.91 · gap $106.92 in the Vacmaster's favour, 71 percent more for the Shop-Vac.
- Tank capacity. Both 12 gallons · no gap.
- Peak HP. Vacmaster 6 · Shop-Vac 5.5 · gap 0.5, and both makers footnote the figure as a laboratory comparison number rather than operating power.
- Motor current. Vacmaster 11.8 A at 120 V · Shop-Vac 11.6 A at 120 V · gap 0.2 A, about 24 watts of input.
- Airflow. Vacmaster 143 CFM · Shop-Vac 140 CFM · gap 3 CFM in the Vacmaster's favour, roughly 2 percent.
- Sealed suction. Vacmaster 60 in. water lift · Shop-Vac 70 in. sealed pressure · gap 10 in. in the Shop-Vac's favour, roughly 17 percent.
- Air watts. Vacmaster 360 · Shop-Vac 370 peak · gap 10 in the Shop-Vac's favour.
- Hose. Vacmaster 7 ft x 2-1/2 in. kink-resistant SecureLock · Shop-Vac 8 ft x 2.5 in. Lock-on · gap 1 ft in the Shop-Vac's favour.
- Cord. Vacmaster 22 ft · Shop-Vac 12 ft · gap 10 ft in the Vacmaster's favour.
- Stated reach. Vacmaster 29 ft with hose and cord · Shop-Vac not stated.
- Weight. Vacmaster 24.7 lb · Shop-Vac not published.
- Dimensions. Neither maker publishes them.
- Filtration in the box. Vacmaster high efficiency cartridge filter, high efficiency dust bag and foam wet filter, with a stated 1 micron capture claim · Shop-Vac cartridge filter, foam sleeve and a 10 to 14 gallon high efficiency disposable bag.
- Widest included floor tool. Vacmaster floor brush and squeegee nozzle · Shop-Vac 14 in. wet/dry floor nozzle plus an 8 in. utility nozzle.
- Warranty. Vacmaster 5 years household, 90 days commercial, industrial or rental · Shop-Vac Full Lifetime Home Use, original purchaser only, commercial use voids it.
- Owner rating on the maker's page. Vacmaster 4.6 stars from 5 reviews · Shop-Vac none published.
- Return window on the product page. Vacmaster 30 days stated · Shop-Vac not stated.
- Certification statement. Neither page carries a UL, ETL, CSA or HEPA claim for the machine.
Price: the Shop-Vac costs 71 percent more for two better numbers
On their own stores on October 21, 2026, Vacmaster listed the Beast at $149.99 and Shop-Vac listed item 8251205 at $256.91.
The $106.92 difference is the single biggest fact in this comparison. It is more than the price of a 4 gallon Shop-Vac SVX2, which the same page listed at $130.82, and close to the price of a full-size cordless circular saw.
What the premium buys, on paper, is 10 inches of sealed pressure and 10 peak air watts. It does not buy more airflow, more tank, a longer cord or a published weight.
Shop-Vac's own 12 gallon range muddies the picture further: a stainless SVX2 at $287.22 and a Contractor Series SVX2 at $267.75 sat in the same page's product strip, all within $31 of each other.
Both vacs are also sold through retailers at prices we did not read, so check the store price before concluding either figure is what you will pay.
Airflow versus lift: the two vacs are tuned differently on purpose
These machines are within 3 CFM of each other and 10 inches apart on sealed suction, and that is the whole engineering story.
Shop-Vac's page explains the trade-off in its own words: maximum sealed water lift is obtained at zero airflow, and suction pressure decreases as airflow increases. A motor tuned for a high lift figure gives some airflow away.
So the Shop-Vac should be the stronger machine on standing water, on a hose jam and on pulling debris out of a tight crevice. The Vacmaster should be marginally faster on open floor sweeping, though 3 CFM is inside the noise of filter condition.
Vacmaster footnotes its CFM, water lift and air watts as tested to ASTM standard at the end of the included hose. Shop-Vac says its figures are ASTM tested with a 2.5 in. diameter Shop-Vac hose.
Those are comparable test conditions, which is more than can be said for most shop vac spec sheets.
One number neither maker's figure resembles is a blower rating. The 650 CFM on the Ego Power+ leaf blower is free-air output and shares nothing but the unit.
Peak HP: both makers tell you to ignore it
The Vacmaster says 6 peak HP and the Shop-Vac says 5.5, and neither figure should move your decision.
Shop-Vac's disclaimer states that peak horsepower is used in the wet-dry vacuum industry for consumer comparison purposes. The same disclaimer says it does not denote operational horsepower but the motor's output including its inertial contribution in laboratory testing.
It adds that in actual use Shop-Vac motors do not operate at the peak horsepower shown.
Vacmaster footnotes its own figure in similar terms. Craftsman and DeWalt print the same style of disclaimer on their vac pages.
The measurable difference between these two motors is 0.2 amps, or about 24 watts of input at 120 V. That is nothing.
If you want one number to compare across brands, use air watts, because it combines airflow and suction at a defined test point. On that measure the Shop-Vac leads 370 to 360, a 3 percent gap.
Cord and reach: the Vacmaster wins the number you use every time
The Vacmaster lists a 22 ft cord and a stated 29 ft of cleaning reach with the hose attached. Shop-Vac lists a 12 ft cord and makes no reach claim.
Ten feet of cord is the difference between cleaning a two-car garage from one outlet and fetching an extension lead. Over a few years of use it is a more frequent annoyance than 10 inches of sealed pressure is a benefit.
The Shop-Vac gets 1 ft of that back in hose length, at 8 ft against 7 ft, and both hoses are 2-1/2 in. with a locking connection.
In the Shop-Vac's favour on handling: it is a dolly design with a tool storage basket and a hose holder, where the Vacmaster is a drum on wide-set casters with a flat power head for tool storage.
Neither maker publishes dimensions, and only Vacmaster publishes a weight, 24.7 lb. If floor space or a shelf height is a constraint, you are measuring in the store.
Filters: both ship three parts, and both exclude them from warranty
Each vac arrives ready for dry debris, wet pickup and fine dust, which is more than many shop vacs manage.
Vacmaster includes a high efficiency cartridge filter, a high efficiency dust bag and a foam wet filter, and says the filter and bag capture fine dust particles down to 1 micron.
Shop-Vac includes a cartridge filter, a foam sleeve and a 10 to 14 gallon high efficiency disposable filter bag.
Both makers exclude filters from warranty coverage, so they are a running cost on either machine. Vacmaster publishes its replacement prices on the product page, from $3.99 for a cloth filter to $29.99 for a HEPA material cartridge.
One clause tilts this toward Vacmaster. Shop-Vac's warranty page lists defects caused by use of non-genuine Shop-Vac filters or accessories among the exclusions, which effectively locks you to genuine consumables.
Vacmaster's warranty page makes no equivalent demand, and it states that several of its filters fit most Shop-Vac units of similar size.
Warranty: Shop-Vac's term is longer, Vacmaster's is less conditional
Shop-Vac's home use warranty page is headed Full Lifetime Home Use Warranty and applies to the original purchaser only, with no transfer.
Coverage runs from the date of purchase until the product becomes unusable for reasons other than defects, with replacement of parts or the whole unit at Shop-Vac's discretion.
Vacmaster's warranty table gives the Beast Series 5 years under normal household use and 90 days under commercial, industrial or rental use.
On paper Shop-Vac wins on length. In the exclusions the picture narrows. Shop-Vac voids coverage on any product used for commercial purposes, on non-genuine filter damage, and on products purchased, used or operated outside the United States or Canada.
Vacmaster's exclusions are the usual ones: misuse, consumables, normal wear of hose, nozzles and casters, exterior finish, tampered serial labels and purchases from unauthorised retailers. It also requires dated proof of purchase and says shipping and processing fees may apply.
One wrinkle worth knowing: the Shop-Vac product page labels the warranty Limited Lifetime Home Use while the warranty page header says Full Lifetime Home Use. We report both strings rather than choosing one.
Owner feedback: one thin sample against none at all
Vacmaster's product page showed 4.6 stars from 5 reviews beside the SKU VJH1211PF 0204 on October 21, 2026. Shop-Vac's page for item 8251205 showed no rating and no review count.
Five reviews is not a usable sample, and zero is worse. Neither maker gives a buyer any real signal about failure rates at year three.
For contrast, Ridgid's own store showed 1,397 reviews on its 14 gallon HD1400 and 2,347 on its 4 gallon WD4070 the same day. That is a reason to shortlist Ridgid even though it publishes no price.
We could not read retailer review pages for either of these two models on October 21, 2026, so we do not summarise complaints we have not seen. Buy from a store whose return policy you trust.
Safety and certification: neither page makes a claim
We looked for safety certification marks in the text of both product pages and both warranty pages and found none.
There is no UL, ETL or CSA listing statement on either page, and no HEPA rating for either machine. On both sites the word HEPA appears only in the names of replacement filters sold separately.
Vacmaster is the clearer of the two about why that matters.
Its certified HEPA collection page states that a HEPA-certified vacuum has been independently tested as a sealed filtration system capturing 99.97 percent of particles down to 0.3 microns, while HEPA-type and HEPA material refer only to the filter media.
The only vac in that collection is the 8 gallon VK811PH.
So neither of these two is the right tool for EPA lead-safe renovation on a pre-1978 house, whatever filter you fit.
For ordinary use the rules are the same on both: no hot ashes, no smouldering debris, no flammable liquids, the foam filter rather than the cartridge for wet pickup, and a bag for fine dust. Read the manual each maker links from its product page.
Job by job: which spec matters where
Mapping the published figures onto the jobs people actually buy a shop vac for makes the trade-off concrete.
- Flooded basement or a failed washer hose: sealed suction leads, so the Shop-Vac's 70 inches is the relevant number.
- **Sawdust and offcuts after a weekend of cutting with a DeWalt DCS570 or a Milwaukee M18 FUEL saw**: airflow and tank size lead, so the two are effectively tied and the Vacmaster is cheaper.
- Drywall dust after a renovation: the included high efficiency bag on either vac matters more than the spec sheet, and both ship one.
- Cleaning a large garage or shop floor: cord length decides how often you stop, which favours the Vacmaster's 22 ft by a wide margin.
- Car interiors: neither is the right size; a 4 gallon vac with a 1-7/8 in. hose is the better tool.
- Clearing a deck or a garage apron: both convert to blowers, and both are worse at it than a dedicated blower or a Sun Joe pressure washer.
- Storm recovery alongside a Champion dual fuel generator: lift again, which favours the Shop-Vac, though both draw under 12 amps and run on a modest inverter.
Choose the Vacmaster if, choose the Shop-Vac if
One question settles most cases: is your worst recurring mess wet or dry?
- Choose the Vacmaster Beast if price matters, because $149.99 against $256.91 buys another tool entirely. Read the full Vacmaster Beast review.
- Choose the Vacmaster if you clean a large space and want the 22 ft cord and 29 ft stated reach.
- Choose the Vacmaster if you want a published weight, a published price and a 30 day return window on the maker's own page.
- Choose the Shop-Vac SVX2 if standing water is the reason you are buying, where 70 inches of sealed pressure leads. Read the full Shop-Vac SVX2 review.
- Choose the Shop-Vac if you want the longest warranty term and will stick to genuine filters and household use.
- Choose neither if airflow is your priority: a 14 gallon Ridgid lists 165 CFM, 22 more than the Vacmaster, though with no published price.
How we compared them
We read each maker's product page, specification block and warranty page on October 21, 2026, and took both prices from the makers' own online stores the same day.
Where one maker publishes a figure and the other does not, such as weight or a stated cleaning reach, we report the gap rather than estimating the missing number. Differences between figures are arithmetic by the editorial team on the published numbers.
We also checked both pages for electrical safety and HEPA certification statements and found none, which we report as something the pages do not say rather than as a claim about the products.
Scores use the four pillars on every review on this site: ease, features, value and support. We did not vacuum with either machine, and no sentence here describes doing so.
Where a shop vac fits in a tool kit
A wet/dry vac is rarely the first tool anyone buys and almost always one of the first five, because every other tool makes a mess.
Our first power tools for homeowners guide puts the drill first and the saw second. The vac usually arrives with the saw, because that is the week the garage floor stops being walkable.
If you have not bought the saw yet, our cordless circular saw guide ranks four current models and explains why the battery platform matters more than the saw.
Budget for the consumables either way. On both of these vacs the filters are the part that wears, the part that decides your airflow, and the part no warranty covers.
Bottom line
The Vacmaster Beast wins this comparison on the strength of a $106.92 price gap that buys you 10 ft more cord, 3 more CFM, a published weight and a 30 day return window, while giving up 10 inches of sealed pressure and 10 air watts.
The Shop-Vac SVX2 is the better machine for water.
Seventy inches of sealed pressure is a real advantage on a flooded floor, the dolly and 14 in. floor nozzle suit a basement, and the lifetime home use warranty outlasts Vacmaster's five years if you never use the vac commercially.
For most households buying one 12 gallon shop vac this autumn, buy the Vacmaster and spend the difference on a dust bag supply and a second filter.
We have no affiliate relationship with Vacmaster Professional Beast 12 Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum (VJH1211PF 0204) - this link is the plain vendor site and earns us nothing.
Frequently asked questions
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from the pages below, read on the date shown. Prices and specifications change - confirm at checkout.
- Vacmaster: Professional Beast Series 12-Gallon 6 Peak HP Wet/Dry Vacuum VJH1211PF 0204 product page (price, specifications, included items, rating) · checked 2026-10-21
- Vacmaster: Warranty Information (Beast Series 5 years household, 90 days commercial, exclusions) · checked 2026-10-21
- Vacmaster: Certified HEPA Wet/Dry Vacuums collection (HEPA certified versus HEPA material) · checked 2026-10-21
- Shop-Vac: 12 Gallon 5.5 Peak HP Wet/Dry Utility Vacuum with SVX2 Motor Technology, item 8251205 (price, performance, accessories, disclaimers) · checked 2026-10-21
- Shop-Vac: The Shop-Vac Home Use Warranty (Full Lifetime Home Use Warranty terms and exclusions) · checked 2026-10-21
- Ridgid: 14 Gallon 6.0 Peak HP NXT Wet Dry Vac HD1400 product page (airflow and review count used for context) · checked 2026-10-21
Community discussion
Which one do you prefer? Share your take and help others choose.